Thursday, May 15, 2008

blogging options

It appears blogspot / blogger, despite my lack of love for it, is the only place I can have a blog without getting so annoyed I stop writing it. Hmmph.

Potential things to cover (otherwise known as my life activities) :

Tea. Mmmmmm, tea. Currently in the house is jasmine, green sencha, kukichi, lotus tea, oolong, pu-erh, uki uki, gunpowder, dandelion, pai mu tan, white tea with acai berry, 'normal' white tea, and a few fruit ones too. We love tea. I plan to start making home-grown blends this year too.

Knitting. I'm obsessed. Ravelry is my favourite site, I'm currently working on 4 projects, most importantly is a little wristband for a friends birthday. I like small projects as I only started last November, and I have an energetic 3 year old, interrupting me as I type, who makes it nigh impossible to knit around him.

Family. My son is 3, and I'm a stay at home mum. He is quite a character, and has a rather good sense of humour, although he's a loon. I'm also married to a man who would have been best off in life being some kind of absent-minded professor.

Allotment. Ours is about 60ft long, and as we've got the neighbours too, it's almost the same width. We're out there every chance we get at the moment. Broad beans, peas, salad leaves, sweetcorn, courgettes, leeks, tomatoes, mangetout, parsnips, carrots, onions, garlic, beetroot, fennel, lettuces, pumpkins, squashes, cucumbers, aubergines, artichokes, asparagus, runner beans, french beans, beans for drying, soya beans, salsify, peppers, chillies, potatoes, cabbages, brussels sprouts, cauliflower...and fruit. Lots of fruit. and herbs.

Japanesey stuff. Whether it be watching anime, buying kimono, or just eating japanese food, this is our other main activity. Last night we ate japanese food (thank you hubby) and two days ago we were at Oriental City spending £75 in the supermarket and having a bento lunch. I read 2 mangas I got for my birthday, and in 2 weekends time we're cosplaying at the London Expo (as Ranma, girl type for me and boy type for hubby, and P-Chan for the boy).

Foodie stuff. I'm vegetarian and hubby just loves his food. We're hoping to become self-sufficient-ish (well I am, anyway, we're not planning on having our own cattle just yet) and we often holiday based around gastropubs in the area. We perve over Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall (for me, it's not *just* about the food) and love those foodie shows that are seeing different foods around the world and things like that. We don't often get to eat at restaurants (a 3 year old, and no money tend to be the main issues) but we like trying out new recipes at home.

There's a few other subjects - music, books, gigs, money-saving, being green, films, and loads of other stuff really, but nothing else is quite as huge. Those are a few of our favourite things. :)

BM Counter